Bloomington-Normal Human Resource Council
Affillate of the Society for Human Resource Management
Bloomington, IL

Human Resources Professional of the Year

The Bloomington-Normal Human Resource Council (BNHRC) Human Resources Professional of the Year Award recognizes an exemplary individual who plays a key role in driving the performance and reputation of an organization, is a catalyst for change, serves as a trusted business advisor, and demonstrates leadership in the human resources profession.


  • Nominees must be currently working in a human resources capacity
  • Have at least two years of experience working in the human resources field
  • Self-nominations are welcomed and encouraged
  • BNHRC board members are not eligible to win
  • Nominees need not be a current member of BNHRC

Winner will receive:

  • Award plaque presented at a monthly chapter meeting
  • Local press release / social media coverage
  • One complimentary annual membership to BNHRC 


  • Leadership — The nominee demonstrates leadership and vision in championing people practices and motivating others to effect positive change, is a role model, and shares their knowledge and experience with others.
  • Organizational impact — The nominee champions change in the pursuit of continuous improvement and strategic advantage for the organization, and plays a key role in driving the performance and reputation of an organization.
  • Commitment to the human resources profession — While serving as an ambassador for their organization, the nominee is involved in activities that contribute to the human resources community and profession as well as being focused on their own professional development and growth.
  • Ethics and integrity – Role models professional values and ethical practice.
  • Results – Has the ability to execute and is results-oriented.
  • Strategist – Provides strategic alignment of human resources functions with corporate strategy.


  • Entries must be received no later than November 30, 2018
  • Submission of the entry implies support and approval of the entry by the nominee
  • Incomplete entries may be disqualified at the discretion of the selection committee
  • At the discretion of the selection committee, an award winner may not be chosen
  • The selection committee is comprised of:
    • BNHRC President
    • BNHRC President-Elect
    • CiHRG President
    • Decatur SHRM President
    • Prior Year HR Professional of the Year Winner

The nomination period for the 2018 HR Professional of the Year Award is now closed. Please stay tuned for the announcement of our winner.

Past Winner:
  • 2017 Winner: Lisa Mason, Illinois State University

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software